So I have a Mental Illness…

So now that you have decided to return to my blog-thank you for that, by the way. If you read my first blog post you know now that I have a mental illness. Well, actually I have a few.  First and foremost, I suffer from Post Traumatic Stress disorder, or PTSD as I will henceforth refer to it. The really condensed and easy terms definition of PTSD is: at a point in my life I experienced something traumatic and my brain had a hard time handling it. That is probably the least technical and not the best definition but I AM NOT A DOCTOR, I only know what I have learned from many different therapist.
Image result for doctor who gif
So I was 8 years old when my brain and I experienced a traumatic event. Now, because I was under the age of 10 I was more susceptible to the trauma and it causing future mental problems. My PTSD was repressed in my mind for about 8 years. It wasn’t until I had a complete break down over a paper airplane project in a physics class that I realized that there was a problem. I ended up in therapy and it was there I discovered that PTSD was not the only thing that was throwing a party I didn’t want to be invited to inside my brain. PTSD likes to bring around friends such as General Anxiety Disorder and Depression. In some cases it even brings Anorexia to the party.
Image result for party gif
 Not all of these were not diagnosed at once. I was diagnosed with “Anorexic Tendencies” when I was in middle school and after I mostly recovered from that, I ended up with a pretty fun case of body dis-morphia. (For those who don’t know what that means it is basically me looking into a mirror and seeing a distorted image of myself.)  Then in my freshman year of high school is when I was diagnosed with PTSD and I was also diagnosed with Anxiety around the same time with that therapist. It wasn’t until around junior year of high school that the Depression diagnosis came. Now you can image, that was a rough time. I was going through high school AND fighting my mental illnesses. High school is a hard time for people in general without having to fight their own mind to make it through the day.

 

Leave a Reply

