Feminism and the Women’s March

The last few days I have been feeling like this:

dragon-tales

(kudos to everyone who gets my Dragon Tales fly with dragons reference.)

But I don’t have a magic stone to take me away to a land apart to fly with cool dragons. So, I am stuck here with the scary ones.

First off, I will state up front that I am a feminist. I know there are a lot of misconceptions about what feminism is but, for me, it is about equality for everyone no matter your gender, race, sexual preference, etc. Feminism isn’t about women being better than men or hating men. I know the name can be confusing but it isn’t just for women, just like this past Saturday when the Women’s March was held, it wasn’t just for women.

I was unable to attend any of the marches because I have severe anxiety in crowds. I had a bunch of friends that went and they sent me pictures and told me about what was happening. I dressed up and watched live streams and twitter updates about the marches. img_2549

I don’t want to get too political but I want to say this: I believe in what the Women’s March stood for. I believe in the freedom to protest. The march was about acceptance for people of all kinds. The new administration scares me because they campaigned with speeches filled with hate, racism, and sexism and the worst thing is that those words are being put into action through the executive orders that have already been signed.

My anxiety is flaring up a lot right now because of everything that is happening. I spent many years of my life not watching or looking at any news because of anxiety. I know this time is affecting a lot of people’s mental health but as long as we are in this together, we will remain strong. 

2 thoughts on “Feminism and the Women’s March

Leave a Reply

