Remember How Far You’ve Come

This past week in therapy, my therapist and I were talking about what I wanted to accomplish before I moved and in talking about what I wanted to accomplish she listed off what I had already accomplished in my mental health journey. Sometimes it can be so hard to see how far you have come when you can still feel the strong hold of mental illness. Depression especially wants me to feel like have accomplished nothing and what I am doing is futile.

Image result for this is futile gif

That is what mental illness wants. It wants you to think that nothing you do is going to make you better. But, that couldn’t be more wrong. Even the smallest steps are huge when it comes to fighting mental illness. The small things will add up and before you know it you are doing better than you have ever done. Yes, for most people metal illness will almost always be an uphill climb. But, there are plateaus and places to rest. There are places where that climb is actually an escalator ride.

The important thing to remember through all of the struggles and all of the lies that mental illness is going to tell you: you are better than who you were, you are moving forward, you are stronger than you even know, and most importantly, you are not alone in your struggles.

Related image

There are days where if feels like after everything I have done to fight my illnesses, I am getting no where. That no matter what I do it is never enough. But really, I am so much stronger than I used to be. I used to hide my struggles from everyone in my life and now I write about them.

No matter how small you think something you are doing in your fight to better your mental health is, I promise you, it is huge in the long run. You are so much stronger than you think and you have come so much farther than you believe.

Leave a comment